Posted by: MasterCosmo | January 6, 2010

Heavy Rain for PS3 looks amazing

I recently purchased a PS3 after a long while waiting for the price to drop and the right time. I’m excited to go play the games I was anticipating the most when they first came out, but only having to spend 20 bucks to buy them instead of 60. This 2010 year is bringing some amazing games to the PS3 system that I probably won’t be able to wait.

The game that is number 1 on my radar (and yes I know FF XIII is coming soon…) is Heavy Rain developed by Quantic Dream. You may have never heard the name, but I’d be shocked if you didn’t hear of Heavy Rain before. Heavy Rain is a Psychological Thriller game unlike any other. The tag line that is thrown out everywhere is “how far you’re willing to go to save someone you love“.

The story from what was revealed so far revolves around 4 main characters. Each character is tied to each other in different ways, but the main focus is on the “Origami Killer” that takes peoples lives and leaves little origami shapes behind as his (or her?) calling card. You will take control of each character as they progress through the story and how you interact with the world around you will shape the story differently. I read that when a group of people had a small demo to play, not one of the testers had the same sequence of events. You’ll be “controlling” each character to progress through the story in hopes of solving the puzzle and saving more lives from being taken…

The reason I put controlling in parentheses is because this game is unlike any game I have seen before. The gameplay is almost like a movie. In the game world, you will see objects around you. Some of the objects will have specific controller trigger buttons over them. Pushing the select trigger will cause your character to interact with the item, such as picking up a weapon, hitting people, escaping, etc. Many sequences will call for quick time events, in that you must react to the given sequence fast to avoid a situation, such as getting stabbed or hit by a truck.

I love playing games that have a storyline that is affected by your interactions in the world. The games that I’ve played that follow a structure  are BioWare’s KOTOR series and Dragon Age. It is my impression that Heavy Rain will 1000x more mailable to your reactions than any other game we’ve seen so far.

I love that it takes 4 normal people and doesn’t add anything supernatural. There will be a ton of plot twists that will keep you thinking. This seems like it’s a game that I could sit and watch and enjoy just as much as playing. The game is scheduled to be released on Spring 2010 with no official release date known. This will more than likely be my first new game purchase for the PS3 system and I certainly hope this game is everything I hope it is and more.

Read more about it here and be sure to watch the videos:

http://ps3.ign.com/objects/811/811232.html


Leave a comment

Categories